聯合國教科文組織世界遺產斯里蘭卡

>蘭卡旅遊主持人-斯里蘭卡旅遊套票

13日遊

導航到子頁面

阿努拉德普勒

Anuradhapura.jpg

記載的歷史稱阿努拉德普勒聖城為斯里蘭卡的首府。這個廣闊的城市仍然保留著其古代王國的建築遺跡和在世界大多數地方都看不到的佛教寺廟。您踏入這座神聖城市的那一刻,要做好把握歷史的準備;阿努拉德普勒它是斯里蘭卡古代文明的基地,也是一座在歷史,文化,政治和宗教方面具有豐富遺產的古老城市。

該聯合國教科文組織世界遺產站點對斯里蘭卡雄偉的國王的生活和時代以及當時的工程和建築潛力提供了深刻的見識。最著名的紀念碑是公元前164年Dutugemunu國王建造的Brazen宮殿和Ruwanwelisaya的廢墟。阿努拉德普勒(Anuradhapura)是文化三角區三個令人驚嘆的地區之一。 Mahamevuna Uyana安置了聖菩提樹或Sri Maha Bodhi,這是最古老的經過鑑定的神聖樹,據說該樹可追溯至BCE,是從成聖樹上的幼樹種植而成的,釋迦牟尼佛在這棵樹下獲得了啟迪。另一個壯麗的景點是世界上最大的Dagoba Jetavanaramaya。這個城市散佈著古老的Dagobas遺址和其他具有宗教意義的遺址。他們複雜的雕刻和雕塑令人印象深刻,古老的石頭講述了昔日的時代,當時這座城市是由佛教神職人員主持的英勇國王統治的。全世界的朝聖者湧向阿努拉德普勒聖城;它被視為佛教保護人類的地方。不幸的是,由於外國入侵,這座城市的重要性最終下降,陷入混亂。波隆納魯瓦(Polonnaruwa)在公元10世紀獲得了突出的地位。位於城市的完整考古博物館可讓您更好地了解城市的獨特古蹟。這座城市在幾乎一千年的歷史中一直是首都,在其崛起的最高時期,在國際上贏得了極大的尊重和力量。除了參觀古老的寺廟,修道院和坦克之外,在這座城市幾乎沒有什麼可做的。對阿努拉德普勒(Anuradhapura)的訪問使訪客充滿了奇異的歷史感,以至於這種體驗在訪問了很長時間之後仍然存在。

丹布拉

D Ambulla是文化三角的一部分。它擁有被宣佈為聯合國教科文組織世界遺產的巨大的丹布拉洞廟。 Dambulla洞穴的歷史可以追溯到公元前1世紀。最初是瓦拉甘巴國王的避難所,後來這些洞穴改建為岩石廟宇。它擁有美麗的壁畫和15米長的臥佛和印度教神像。這些洞穴被認為是僧伽羅藝術和雕塑的最好倉庫。

它在一塊巨大的懸岩下有五個洞穴,上面刻有一個滴水壁架,以保持室內乾燥。 1938年,該建築因拱形走道而膨脹。在山洞內部,天花板沿著岩石的輪廓繪有復雜的宗教圖像圖案。裡面有佛陀,菩薩和各種神靈的圖像。五個山洞被改造成神殿。這些洞穴建於阿努拉德普勒(Anuradhapura)(公元前1世紀至993年)和波隆納魯瓦時期(1073至1250 AD)期間高150米的岩石底部,是斯里蘭卡許多洞穴廟宇中最具啟發性的。

最大的洞穴東西長約52米,從入口到背面約23米,這個驚人的洞穴最高點高7米。印度神靈也有代表,瓦拉甘巴國王,尼桑卡馬拉國王和阿蘭特阿南達國王也有代表。佛陀最虔誠的門徒在這些神殿的房間裡,藏有150尊佛像和該國歷史的雕像。這些雕像和繪畫代表了僧伽羅藝術和雕塑的許多時代。佛像的大小和外觀各不相同;最大的是15米長。一個洞穴在天花板上覆蓋了1,500多幅佛陀畫。

丹布拉(Dambulla)洞穴修道院仍在運轉,仍是斯里蘭卡保存最完好的古代建築。這個複雜的歷史可以追溯到公元前2世紀和3世紀。它被建立為最大和最重要的修道院之一。瓦拉甘巴國王(Walagamba)在公元前1世紀將這些洞穴改造成一座寺廟。從阿努拉德普勒(Anuradhapura)流放後,他在南印度侵略者的庇護下居住了15年。國王收回首都後,建造了一座寺廟以示敬意。後來又增加了許多其他國王,到了11世紀,這些洞穴已成為主要的宗教中心。 Nissankamalla國王在山洞上鍍金,並在公元1190年增添了約70尊佛像。在18世紀,這些洞穴是由康提國王(Kandyan Kings)修復和粉刷的。

遠足到南亞最高的玫瑰石英山脈山脈,可以欣賞周圍數英里遠的壯麗景色。擁有1000多年曆史的Jathika Namal Uyana(也被稱為鐵木森林)在由斯里蘭卡國家樹Na(鐵木)組成的深叢林中提供令人著迷的徒步旅行。森林具有重要的生態意義,是生態學家和自然界學生研究的重點。

dambulla_golden_temple_edited.jpg

加勒堡

Stilt-fishermen-in-Weligama.jpg

Emerson Tennant爵士聲稱加勒是聖經中提到的“ Tarshish”,因為與所羅門王進行貿易的船隻在這裡獲得了大象,孔雀和寶石。最肯定的是,加勒堡現在所在的地方以及加勒的其他地區,如Unawatuna,Magalle,Kaluwella甚至中國花園(幾年前曾擁有中國商人的殖民地)都是具有悠久歷史聯繫的地區葡萄牙時代。國際貿易商,波斯人,波斯灣的摩爾貿易商,南印度貿易商,馬來人,尤其是中國人以及許多其他民族在加勒生活和交易。克里普斯路的銘文揭示了加勒的多語種和多民族特色。即使在英國早期,最早的使館也位於加勒。例如,第一位來自美國的領事就居住在加勒。

加勒要塞是荷蘭人統治期間建造的,它是斯里蘭卡最大,最安全的堡壘。自1969年以來,它已被聯合國宣佈為考古保護區。1988年12月,聯合國教科文組織宣布加勒堡為世界遺產第38座紀念碑。 1994年,斯里蘭卡通過了一項名為《加勒遺產基金會法》的議會法案。除了這些全部要求外,加勒堡(Galle Fort)是獨特的,非常特別且迷人的,因為與斯里蘭卡38公頃(90英畝)的加勒堡寨城相比,沒有其他地點,地區,要塞或地點。

加勒堡是整個歷史的生動象徵,除非斯里蘭卡政府原來意識到自己有責任保護和保存我們歷史上的有形遺骸。不僅在加勒,而且在整個斯里蘭卡,否則所有的一切都會丟失。讓加勒的世界遺產地繼續保持其遺產的象徵意義,不要成為外國人,夜總會以及所有與之相關的富麗堂皇的住宅的中心。

康提

康提是斯里蘭卡的最後一個首都。它的歷史使人想到了財富,行軍像以及許多盛況和盛況的圖像。康提(Kandy)處於丘陵地帶,所有人的目光都集中在城市中心,康提湖(Kandy Lake)構成了迷人的特色。它是斯里蘭卡的八個聯合國教科文組織世界遺產之一。康提(Kandy)是19世紀昔日的康提國王(Kandyan Kings)的故鄉,也是該國所有音樂,藝術,手工藝和文化的源泉。參加Kandyan舞者的表演就像漂浮在無休止的波浪上,節奏和運動在鼓動的背景下合而為一

康提對斯里蘭卡具有重要的宗教意義。自恐怖分子襲擊其建築物以來,在這個宜人的城市裡,達拉達·馬里加瓦(Dalada Maligawa)或“聖牙遺跡聖殿”受到了良好的保護。參觀康提的最佳時間是在七月/八月,您可以親眼目睹一年一度的康提·埃薩拉·佩拉赫拉(Kandy Esala Perahera),這是一次令人難忘的遊行,反映了國王的盛況和盛況,尤其是在遊行紀念棺材的情況下。沿城主要街道遊行的近100頭大象,裝飾著禮儀裝備,並伴有舞者和鼓手長達10多個有趣的日子

即使您錯過了這種奇觀,康提還有許多景點和聲音會吸引您的注意。佩拉德尼亞植物園(Peradeniya Botanical Gardens)邀請遊客學習動植物和一些雄偉的樹木,其歷史可以追溯到幾個世紀。參觀國家博物館再次凸顯了這座城市的皇家歷史,值得一遊。馬爾瓦塔(Malwatta)和阿斯吉里亞(Asgiriya)修道院收藏著古代手稿和過去時代的其他珍寶

康提(Kandy)是令人興奮的購物場所,也是著名的製作精美的黃銅,青銅和銀器的中心。蠟染,手搖織機,陶瓷,珠寶,蘆葦製品和珠寶是其他現成的物品。這座小山之都是該島歷史和特徵的核心,沒有在康提中途停留,對斯里蘭卡的訪問是不完整的。佛陀聖牙舍利廟是斯里蘭卡最受尊敬的佛教寺廟。它位於皇宮建築群中。自古以來,文物在當地政治中起著重要作用,因為人們相信擁有文物的人可以控制國家。康提是僧伽羅國王的最後首都,也是聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產的部分聖殿

瑪爾瓦塔(Malwatta)和阿斯吉里亞(Asgiriya)兩章的僧侶每天在聖殿的內室進行崇拜。儀式每天進行三次,分別是在黎明,中午和晚上。在星期三,有一種象徵性的沐浴,用一種由香水和香花製成的草藥製成的聖物,叫做“ Nanumura Mangalaya”。這種聖水被認為具有治愈能力,並在存在的聖水之間分配

Kandy

波隆納魯瓦

Polonnaruwa

Mahavamsa和Chulavansa談到Pulasthipura; Polonnaruwa的早期歷史名稱;聯合國教科文組織世界遺產,擁有悠久的入侵和鬥爭歷史。它的後面正確地構成了文化三角的第三個元素。波隆納魯瓦(Polonnaruwa)位於康提(Kandy)東北約140公里(Kms),為歷史和文化愛好者提供了數小時的無盡歡樂,因為這裡有許多重要景點。

在阿努拉德普勒邦(Anuradhapura)衰敗之後,波隆納魯瓦(Polonnaruwa)成為斯里蘭卡的首都,目睹了僧伽羅佛教文明的發展。在帕拉克拉瑪巴胡國王(1153-1186 AD)和斯里蘭卡統治期間,廣闊的灌溉網絡擁有像內陸海一樣的水庫,在稻穀耕作方面保持了這種經典的平衡,後來被稱為東方糧倉。主要景點是光榮的王宮的保存完好的遺址,龐大的佛教寺廟以及用堅固的巨石雕刻而成的巨大雕像中未破損的紀念碑,其保存完好的遺址和經過翻修的古老灌溉水庫是斯里蘭卡的“必遊之地”。

受到保護的文化古蹟會給遊客帶來很多啟發,波隆納魯瓦(Polonnaruwa)地區的野生動植物保護區為近距離的野生象,其他哺乳動物和野生動植物愛好者提供了充分的歡樂和樂趣。在波隆納魯瓦(Polonnaruwa)市,最大的古代灌溉水庫稱為Parakrama Samudra(帕拉克拉瑪海)總是充滿著過多的鳥類,但在其波光粼粼的水域中很少有有趣的事情發生。 Polonnaruwa位於Minneriya國家公園的野生動物,Wasgamuwa國家公園,Kaudulla國家公園與Kandalama和Habarana的Eco Hotels之間。

錫吉里亞

斯里蘭卡政府發起的“文化三角計劃”於1982年將注意力集中在錫吉里亞。在該計劃下,考古工作首次在整個城市開始。入口上方的雙腿和爪子上面有一個雕刻的獅子的頭,但是很多年前頭已經壞了。

錫吉里亞(Sigiriya)由卡薩帕國王(Kassapa King)在5世紀建造的一座古老城堡組成。但是,錫吉里亞的開端和原始建築商受到許多本地和外國歷史學家及考古學家的挑戰。錫吉里亞(Sigiriya)的剩餘部分在岩石頂部的一樓,一個中層露台,包括獅子門和帶有壁畫的鏡子牆,下宮殿緊貼岩石下面的山坡。護城河,城牆和花園從岩石底部延伸了數百米。

它既是宮殿又是堡壘。儘管年代久遠,這座宮殿的輝煌仍使人們對其建造者的獨創性和創造力有了驚人的見解。岩石頂部的上層宮殿包括切入岩石的儲水池,至今仍保留著水。環繞較低宮殿的護城河和城牆仍然優雅迷人。

錫吉里亞被認為是第一個千年最重要的城市規劃場所之一,並且該場地規劃被認為是非常詳盡和富有想像力的。該計劃結合了平衡和不規則性的概念,有意地將人造的幾何形狀和自然形狀聯繫在一起。岩石的西側是一個為皇室成員準備的公園,規劃得很平衡。該公園包含保水結構,包括複雜的地面/地下液壓系統,其中一些至今仍在使用。南部有一個人造水庫。這些被廣泛用於斯里蘭卡乾旱地區的前首都。入口處有五個門。更為複雜的西門被認為是為皇室保留的。

Image by Yves Alarie

斯里帕達亞(亞當峰)

Sri Padaya

山頂荒野保護區是斯里蘭卡第三大自然保護區。它的面積超過224平方公里,周圍環繞著Sri Pada(亞當峰)山脈的熱帶雨林。在英國對斯里蘭卡的殖民統治期間(1815-1948年),砍伐和砍伐了屬於荒野山峰的大片森林,為仍在努沃勒埃利耶地區發揮作用的大型茶園獲得土地。其餘的在1940年10月25日被宣佈為儲備

該保護區的輪廓從海拔1000到7360英尺不等。與該島的其他自然保護區相比,它擁有不尋常的地理構造。 Bena Samanala(6579英尺),Dotalugala和Detanagala是山頂荒野中的一些較高的山脈。它也是Kelani,Kalu,Walawe河流的發源地以及Mahaweli河的許多支流,這些瀑佈在聖所內形成瀑布,如Dotalu瀑布,Gerandi瀑布,Galagama瀑布(655英尺)和Mapanana瀑布(330英尺)。

在3條進入路線中;哈頓(Hatton),庫魯維塔(Kuruwita)和帕拉巴達拉(Palabaddala)的佛教信徒和其他遊客利用此路線到達亞當峰(Adam's Peak),庫魯維塔(Kuruwita)和帕拉巴達拉(Palabaddala)的路線就穿過了山頂荒野保護區。它完全在斯里蘭卡野生動物保護部的控制之下,但在保護區內沒有任何小屋,簡易別墅,以維護該森林的純淨。在獲得斯里蘭卡野生動物保護部的許可後,生態旅遊者沒有進入保護區的限制。在雨季進入避難所是遊客的自擔風險,因為無法預料的傾盆大雨和立即的洪水會導致生命危險。


山頂荒野保護區位於中央丘陵的薩巴拉加穆瓦山脈內,山頂荒野保護區沒有特定的界限。大多數邊界以政府和私營部門擁有的人工林為標誌。東部邊界很清楚,並與Piduruthalagala山區和霍頓平原國家公園相連。

辛哈拉加森林保護區

Sinharaja森林保護區是斯里蘭卡的國家公園和生物多樣性熱點。它具有國際意義,已被聯合國教科文組織指定為生物圈保護區和世界遺產。

小山丘原始雨林是斯里蘭卡低地雨林生態區的一部分,由於交通不便而免於遭受最惡劣的商業砍伐,並於1978年被指定為世界生物圈保護區,並於1988年被指定為世界遺產。該保護區的名稱譯為王國獅子它是特有物種的寶庫,包括樹木,昆蟲,兩棲動物,爬行動物,鳥類和哺乳動物。由於植被茂密,野生生物不像在亞拉這樣的干旱地區國家公園那樣容易被看到。大約有3頭大象,幾乎沒有15頭左右的豹子。最常見的大型哺乳動物是地方性的紫色面對的朗格(Languor)。一個有趣的現像是,鳥類傾向於在混合飼養的雞群中移動,而這通常是由無所畏懼的大球拍尾的德龍戈和嘈雜的橙色開嘴的說話人帶動的。在斯里蘭卡的26種特有鳥類中,有20種雨林物種都在此棲息,包括難以捉摸的紅臉馬爾科哈犬,綠嘴庫卡爾和斯里蘭卡藍喜p。爬行動物包括地方性綠坑蛇和駝峰鼻vi蛇,還有許多兩棲動物,尤其是樹蛙。無脊椎動物包括特有的普通鳥翅蝴蝶和不可避免的水ches。植物區系:Sinharaja的植被可以描述為熱帶低地雨林或熱帶濕性常綠森林。森林的一些顯著特徵是優勢樹的挺拔性,樹幹的筆直度,再生的豐富性和物種的多樣性。樹木的平均高度在35 -40米之間變化,有些甚至上升到50米。 Sinharaja的植被是濕潤的常綠森林類型,特有度很高。實際上,龍腦香科等一些家庭表現出超過90%的地方性。 Sinharaja植物區系的未開發遺傳潛力是巨大的。到目前為止,在保護區內的139棵木本樹木和藤本植物中,有139棵(66%)是特有的。同樣,地方病的流行程度很高。

Sinharaja代表了蕨類植物,附生植物等低等植物,以及斯里蘭卡25種特有種中的13種。據估計,包括樹木,灌木,藥草和幼苗在內的總植被密度約為每公頃240,000人,其中95%的人是海拔1米以下的波紋管。

SinharajaRainForest.jpg

UNESCO World Heritage Sites Sri Lanka 

> Lanka Tour Host  - UNESCO World Heritage Sites 

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Navigate to Sub Page

Anuradhapura

Recorded history refers to Anuradhapura as the first capital of Sri Lanka. This extensive city still holds relics of architectural ruins of its ancient kingdom and Buddhist temples not seen in most parts of the world. Be prepared to grip history the minute you step into this sacred city; Anuradhapura. It is the base of ancient civilization in Sri Lanka and an ancient city with a rich heritage in history, culture, politics and religion.

This UNESCO World Heritage Site offers a deep insight into the life and times of the majestic kings of Sri Lanka and the engineering and architectural potential of the times. The most famed monument is the ruins of the Brazen Palace and the Ruwanwelisaya built by King Dutugemunu in 164BCE. Anuradhapura is one of the three stunning locations in the Cultural Triangle. Mahamevuna Uyana houses the Sacred Bo Tree or Sri Maha Bodhi, the oldest authenticated sacred tree, which is said to date back to BCE and planted from a sapling from the sanctified tree under which Gautama Buddha attained enlightenment. Another magnificent sight is the Jetavanaramaya, the largest Dagoba in the world. The city is spread with ruins of ancient Dagobas and other sites of religious significance. Their complicated carvings and sculptures are remarkable and the ancient stones speak of the days of yore when the city was ruled by brave kings presided over by Buddhist clergy. Pilgrims around the world flock to Anuradhapura; it is regarded as a place where Buddhism is safeguarded for humanity. It is so unfortunate that the city finally declined in importance due to foreign invasions and went into disorder. Polonnaruwa gained prominence in the 10th century AD. A complete Archaeological Museum located in the city offers a greater understanding of the city’s unique monuments. The city remained the capital for almost 1,000 years and during the height of its rise, commanded great respect and power internationally. There is little to do in the city apart from visiting the ancient temples, monasteries and tanks. A visit to Anuradhapura leaves the visitor with a sense of wonder and history so deep that the experience lingers long after the visit.

Dambulla

Dambulla is part of the Cultural Triangle. It houses the gigantic Dambulla Cave Temple declared a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Dambulla caves date back to 1st century BCE. Originally it was the refuge of King Walagamba, and the caves were later converted into a rock temple. It houses beautiful frescoes and an imposing 15-metre long reclining Buddha and Hindu deities. The caves are considered to be the finest storehouse of Sinhala art and sculpture.

It has five caves under a vast overhanging rock, carved with a drip ledge to keep the interiors dry. In 1938 the architecture was inflated with arched walkways. Inside the caves, the ceilings are painted with complex patterns of religious images following the contours of the rock. There are images of Lord Buddha, and Bodhisattvas, as well as various gods and goddesses. Five caves are converted to shrine rooms. The caves, built at the base of a 150 meter high rock during the Anuradhapura (1st Century BCE to 993 AD) and Polonnaruwa times (1073 to 1250 AD), are the most inspiring of many cave temples in Sri Lanka.

The largest cave measures about 52 meters from east to west, and 23 meters from the entrance to the back, this amazing cave is 7 meters tall at its highest point. Hindu deities are also represented here, and the kings Walagamba, Nissankamalla, and of Arhant Ananda; the Buddha's most devoted disciple. Within these shrine rooms is housed a collection of one hundred and fifty statues of the Buddhist Order and the country's history. These statues and paintings represent many eras of Sinhala art and sculpture. The Buddha statues are in varying sizes and outlook; the largest is 15 meters long. One cave has over 1,500 paintings of the Buddha covering the ceiling.

The Dambulla cave monastery is still functional and remains the best-preserved ancient structure in Sri Lanka. This complex dates from the 2nd and 3rd Centuries BCE; it was established as one of the largest and most important monasteries. King Walagamba converted the caves into a temple in the 1st century BCE. Exiled from Anuradhapura, he sought refuge here from South Indian invaders for 15 years. After reclaiming his capital, the King built a temple in thankful worship. Many other kings added to it later and by the 11th century, the caves had become a major religious center. King Nissankamalla gilded the caves and added about 70 Buddha statues in 1190 AD. During the 18thcentury, the caves were restored and painted by the Kandyan Kings.

A hike to the highest Rose Quartz Mountain Range in South Asia offers the pleasure of a striking view of the neighboring area for miles around. With a history spanning over 1,000 years, Jathika Namal Uyana, also known as the Ironwood Forest, offers a fascinating trek through a deep jungle comprising of the Sri Lankan national tree, the Na (Iron wood). The forest is of important ecological extent and is the focus of studies by ecologists and students of nature.

Galle Fort

Sir Emerson Tennant claims that Galle was the "Tarshish" mentioned in the Bible, as the harbor where ships trading with King Solomon obtained their Elephants, Peacocks and Gemstones. Most certainly the place where the Galle Fort now stands as well as other areas in Galle like Unawatuna, Magalle, Kaluwella and even the China Gardens (which held a colony of Chinese traders several years ago) were all areas with historic connections which go long before the Portuguese Era. International traders, Persians, Moor traders from the Persian Gulf, South Indian traders, Malays and especially the Chinese and a host of other nationalities lived and traded in Galle. The Cripps Road inscription reveals the polyglot and poly-ethnic character of Galle. Even in early British times the earliest embassies were situated in Galle. For example the first Consul from USA was resident in Galle.

The Galle Fort was built by the Dutch during their rule and it is the largest and the most secured fortress in Sri Lanka. It was declared an archeological reserve by the UN since 1969 and in December 1988, UNESCO declared Galle Fort World Heritage 38th Monument. A Parliament bill titled Galle Heritage Foundation Act was passed in 1994 in Sri Lanka. In addition to these entire claim, Galle Fort is unique, very special and charming as there are no other sites, areas, fortress or location when compared with Galle Fort walled city of 38 hectares (90 acres) in Sri Lanka.

The Fort of Galle is the living symbol of all this history unless the Sri Lankan Government turns out to be conscious of its responsibility to protect and preserve the tangible remains of our history; not only in Galle, but also all over Sri Lanka, otherwise all will be lost. Let the world heritage site of Galle remain symbolic of its heritage and not become a center of palatial dwellings of foreigners, night clubs and all that go with them.

Kandy

Kandy is the last capital of Sri Lanka; its history brings to mind images of riches, marching elephants and much pomp and pageantry. Kandy is amongst a hilly terrain and all eyes are drawn to the center of the city, where the Kandy Lake forms a charming feature. It's one of the eight UNESCO World Heritage sites in Sri Lanka. Kandy was last home to the Kandyan Kings of yore in the 19th century and a fountain for all the music, arts, crafts and culture in the country. Taking in a performance of Kandyan Dancers is rather like floating on an unending wave where rhythm and movement become one against the backdrop of the throbbing drums

Kandy keeps hold of great religious significance for Sri Lanka. It is in this delightful city that the Dalada Maligawa or 'Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic' lies well guarded since the attack on its building by terrorists. The best time to visit Kandy would be in July/August when you can witness the annual Kandy Esala Perahera, an memorable parade that mirror the pomp and pageantry of kings and more notably an occasion when a replica of the relic casket is paraded. Almost 100 elephants parade along the main streets of the city, adorned with ceremonial gear and are accompanied by dancers and drummers for over 10 fascinating days

Even if you miss this spectacle, there are many more sights and sounds in Kandy that would hold your attention. The Peradeniya Botanical Gardens invite visitors to a learning experience about flora and fauna and some majestic trees that can be traced back to centuries. A visit to the National Museum once again highlights the city's royal past and is well worth a stop. The Malwatta and Asgiriya Monasteries house ancient manuscripts and other treasures from a bygone era

Kandy is an exciting place for shopping and a well-known center for elaborate brass, bronze and silver ware. Batiks, handlooms, ceramics, jewelry, reed ware and jewelry are other readily available items. This hill capital is at the heart of the island's history and identity and no visit to Sri Lanka is complete without a stop-over in Kandy. The Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic of the Buddha is the most revered Buddhist temple in Sri Lanka. And it is located in the royal palace complex. Since ancient times, the relic has played an important role in local politics because it is believed that whoever holds the relic holds the governance of the country. Kandy was the last capital of the Sinhalese kings and is a UNESCO world heritage site partly due to the temple

Monks of the two chapters of Malwatta and Asgiriya conduct daily worship in the inner chamber of the temple. Rituals are performed three times daily: at dawn, at noon and in the evening. On Wednesdays there is a symbolic bathing of the Sacred Relic with an herbal preparation made from scented water and fragrant flowers, called 'Nanumura Mangalaya'. This holy water is believed to contain healing powers and is distributed among those present

Polonnaruwa

Mahavamsa and Chulavansa speak of Pulasthipura; the early historical name of Polonnaruwa; a UNESCO world heritage site, which has a great history of invasions and struggle. Behind it rightfully forms the third element in the Cultural Triangle. Located about 140 Kms north east of Kandy, Polonnaruwa offers hours of endless pleasure for history and culture lovers, as there are numerous sights of significance.

Polonnaruwa became the capital of Sri Lanka subsequent to the decline of Anuradhapura and witnessed the Sinhala Buddhist civilization reaching much greater heights. The vast irrigation network with reservoirs that look like inland seas sustained such classic balance in rice cultivation, during the rule of King Parakramabahu the Great (1153-1186 AD) and Sri Lanka came to be known as the Granary of the Orient. The main attractions are the conserved ruins of glorious royal palaces, massive Buddhist temples, and unbroken monuments in colossal statues carved from solid rock boulders and with its conserved ruins and renovated ancient irrigation reservoirs it is a "must visit" destination in Sri Lanka.

As much as the conserved cultural monuments would enlighten the tourists, the wildlife sanctuaries in the district of Polonnaruwa afford ample opportunities for the joy and fun in the close range of wild elephants, other mammals to the lovers of wildlife. At the city of Polonnaruwa the largest ancient irrigation reservoir called Parakrama Samudra (Sea of Parakrama) is always lovely with the excess of birdlife, it is seldom that there is not something interesting going on upon its shimmering expanses of waters. Polonnaruwa is located in between Wildlife at Minneriya National Park, Wasgamuwa National Park, Kaudulla National Park and Eco Hotels at Kandalama and Habarana.

Sigiriya

The Cultural Triangle Project, launched by the Government of Sri Lanka, focused its attention on Sigiriya in 1982. Archaeological work began on the entire city for the first time under this project. There was a sculpted lion's head above the legs and paws fl anking the entrance, but the head had broken down many years ago.

Sigiriya consists of an ancient castle built by King Kassapa during the 5th century. However, the beginnings and the original builder of Sigiriya is challenged by many local and foreign historians and archaeologists. The Sigiriya has the leftovers of an upper palace on the fl at top of the rock, a midlevel terrace including the Lion Gate and the mirror wall with its frescoes, the lower palace that clings to the slopes below the rock; the moats, walls, and gardens extending for some hundreds of meters out from the base of the rock.

It is both a palace and a fortress. Despite its age, the splendor of the palace still furnishes a stunning insight into the ingenuity and creativity of its builders. The upper palace on the top of the rock includes cisterns cut into the rock that still retain water. The moats and walls that surround the lower palace are still gracefully attractive.

Sigiriya is considered one of the most important urban planning sites of the first millennium, and the site plan is considered very elaborate and imaginative. The plan combined concepts of balance and irregularity to intentionally link the man-made geometrical and natural forms of the surroundings. On the west side of the rock lies a park for the royals, laid out on a balanced plan; the park contains water-retaining structures, including sophisticated surface/subsurface hydraulic systems, some of which still work to date. In the south lies a man-made reservoir; these were extensively used from the previous capital of the dry zone of Sri Lanka. Five gates were placed at the entrances. The more sophisticated western gate is regarded to have been reserved for the royals.

Sri Padaya (Adam's Peak)

Peak Wilderness Sanctuary is the third largest nature reserve in Sri Lanka. It spreads over 224 square kilometers and a tropical rain forest around the Sri Pada (Adam's Peak) mountain range. A huge forest area belonging to the Peak Wilderness was cut down and cleared during the British colonial rule in Sri Lanka (1815-1948) to gain land for the massive tea estates which still functions in Nuwara Eliya district. The remaining was declared a reserve on October 25th 1940

The contours of this reserve vary from 1000 to 7360 feet above sea level. It possesses unusual geographical formations compared to the other natural reserves of the island. Bena Samanala (6579 ft), Dotalugala and Detanagala, are some of the taller mountains in the Peak Wilderness. It is also the birthplace of Kelani, Kalu, Walawe rivers and many tributaries of the river Mahaweli which make waterfalls such as Dotalu Falls, Gerandi Falls, Galagama Falls (655 ft), and Mapanana Falls (330 ft) inside the sanctuary

Of the 3 access routes; Hatton, Kuruwita and Palabaddala, the Buddhist devotees and other tourists make use of to reach the Adam's Peak, Kuruwita and Palabaddala routes go right across the Peak Wilderness sanctuary. It is entirely under the control of Sri Lanka Wildlife Conservation Department but do not maintain any lodge, bungalow inside sanctuary in order to safeguard the purity of this forest. There is no restriction for eco-tourists to enter the sanctuary after obtaining permission from Sri Lanka Wildlife Conservation Department. Entering the sanctuary during the rainy season is at the tourist's own risk because of the unforeseen downpours and instant floods lead to life-risk situations.


Peak Wilderness sanctuary is within the Sabaragamuwa mountain range in the Central hills and there are no specific boundaries for the Peak Wilderness sanctuary. Most boundaries are marked by plantations owned by the Government and the private sector. The eastern boundary is clear and connected to Piduruthalagala mountain region and Horton Plains National Park.

Sinharaja Forest Reserve

Sinharaja Forest Reserve is a national park and a biodiversity hotspot in Sri Lanka. It is of international significance and has been designated a Biosphere Reserve and World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

The hilly virgin rainforest, part of Sri Lanka’s lowland rain forests eco region, was saved from the worst of commercial logging by its inaccessibility, and was designated a World Biosphere Reserve in 1978 and a World Heritage Site in 1988. The reserve’s name translates as Kingdom of the Lion. It is a treasure trove of endemic species, including trees, insects, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. Because of the dense vegetation, wildlife is not as easily seen as at dry-zone national parks such as Yala. There are about 3 elephants and the 15 or so leopards are rarely seen. The commonest larger mammal is the endemic Purple faced Languor. An interesting phenomenon is that birds tend to move in mixed feeding flocks, invariably led by the fearless Greater Racket-tailed Drongo and the noisy Orange-billed Babbler. Of Sri Lanka’s 26 endemic birds, the 20 rainforest species all occur here, including the elusive Redfaced Malkoha, Green-billed Coucal and Sri Lanka Blue Magpie. Reptiles include the endemic Green pit viper and Hump-nosed vipers, and there are a large variety of amphibians, especially tree frogs. Invertebrates include the endemic Common Bird wing butterfly and the inevitable leeches. Flora: - The vegetation of Sinharaja may be described either as a tropical lowland rain forest or tropical wet evergreen forest. Some striking characteristics of the forest are the loftiness of the dominant trees, the straightness of their bole, the abundance of regeneration and the diversity of species. Average height of the trees varies between 35 -40 meters, some rise even up to 50 meters. The vegetation of Sinharaja is that of humid wet evergreen forest type with a high degree of endemism. In fact some families such as Dipterocarpaceae show an endemism more than 90%. The untapped genetic potential of Sinharaja flora is enormous. Out of the 211 woody trees and lianas so far identified within the reserve 139 (66%) are endemic. Similarly, high levels of endemism are.

perhaps true for the lower plants like ferns, epiphytes as well as out of 25 general endemic to Sri Lanka 13 are represented in Sinharaja. The total vegetation density, including trees, shrubs, herbs and seedlings has been estimated to be around 240,000 individuals per hectare, of which 95% comprise individuals of the ground layer bellow 1 meter in height.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • TripAdvisor

BR No: PV 00229100

Lanka Tour Host for Transport.png

ADDRESS

Lanka Tour Host Pvt Ltd

116 1/1 Dehiwala road

Boralesgomuwa. Sri Lanka

CONTACT

Hot Line : +94 71 524 8 524

© 2021 by Lanka Tour Host (Pvt) Ltd.

Proudly created with Lanka Tour Host Team 

Tel:          +94 11 219 8 205

WE ACCEPT

Show More